Owens Golf Finishes First Again, Mullins Wins OCCAC Player of the Year

Dominic DiGiacomo and Will Mullins (L to R) tied for third place today. Photos by Nicholas Huenefeld/Owens Sports Information
Dominic DiGiacomo and Will Mullins (L to R) tied for third place today. Photos by Nicholas Huenefeld/Owens Sports Information

By Nicholas Huenefeld/Owens Sports Information

Toledo, Ohio---Will Mullins (St. Bernadette's/Bristol, U.K.) and Dominic DiGiacomo (Ocean City/Ocean City, N.J.) each fired a 1-over 73 to lead the Owens Community College men's golf team to a first place finish in today's Owens Invitational at Belmont Country Club.

The tournament marked the finale of the Ohio Community College Athletic Conference (OCCAC) season. Owens, who clinched the program's sixth OCCAC championship last weekend, captured seven of the eight conference tournaments and shot below 300 in four of those tournaments.

In today's Owens Invitational, Owens shot a 296 to finish 10 strokes ahead of second place Cincinnati State Technical and Community College. Lakeland Community College finished third at 327, while Columbus State Community College came in fourth at 329.

Furthermore, with its first place finish this afternoon, Owens captured the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Division II Sub-Region XII tournament championship and qualify for the Region XII tournament in Battle Creek, Mich. May 16-17 at Bedford Valley.

Individually, Evan Bryan and Alex Ebel of Cincinnati State each shot an even par 72 to finish in a first place tie, while Mullins and DiGiacomo tied for third place.

Karit Kitipongpatana (St. Dominic School/Bangkok, Thailand) added a 74 for Owens to finish in fifth, while Bandit Chaisuk (Phathumthapwittayakarn/Nong Khai, Thailand), Dylan Holsclaw (Plainfield/Plainfield, Ill.) and Wyatt Spalding (Summerfield/Petersburg, Mich.) all tied for sixth place.

Brett Menser (Tipp City/Tipp City, Ohio), who competed as an individual along with Spalding, Travis Focht (Oak Harbor/Oak Harbor, Ohio) and Zach Doom (Mason/Erie, Mich.) finished in a five way tie for 10th place as Owens placed seven golfers in the top 10.

Doom shot 41 on the front and back nine to finish with an 82 and in a 15th place tie with teammate Harrison Quirk (Wilnecote/Tamworth, U.K.). Focht finished 23rd with an 86.

In the conference standings, Owens accumulated 31 points for their seven first place finishes and one second place finish. Cincinnati State finished second with 23 points, while Lakeland and Columbus State each tied for third place with 15 points.

For live updates at the Region XII tournament, visit here

Mullins Wins OCCAC POTY, Five Others Earn All-OCCAC Recognition

Mullins, a sophomore for Owens, took home the OCCAC Player of the Year award this afternoon. He closed the conference season at 589 strokes over eight tournaments for an average of 73.625 strokes. Furthermore, he finished in the top five in each tournament.

Mullins joins Brandon Hoelzer (2014), Jimmy Bell (2009), Adam Crisp (2008), Jason Smith (2008) and Joey Bussdieker (2007) as one of six players to win player of the year in the conference. Crisp and Smith were Co-OCCAC Player of the Year in 2008.

Kitipongpatana, who had two top five finishes this weekend, closed the season strong and took home second place in the conference at 601 strokes to earn First Team All-OCCAC recognition. He captured first place finishes in two of the eight tournaments this year and finished in the top five four times.

DiGiacomo, who also finished in first place in two of the eight tournaments, finished fourth to also make First Team All-OCCAC. He had five top five finishes this season. This also marks the second consecutive year DiGiacomo won First Team All-OCCAC honors after a fifth place finish as a freshman.

While Owens placed three golfers in the top five, they also had three more finish in the top 10 and earn Second Team All-OCCAC recognition as Chaisuk (612), Quirk (625) and Holsclaw (633) finished sixth through eight.

The six All-OCCAC team members for Owens ties their record from 2013 when they placed four golfers on the first team and two on the second team.

Williams Wins 4th OCCAC Coach of the Year Award

Owens men's golf head coach Josh Williams was also named the OCCAC Coach of the Year this afternoon. It marks his fourth win in five years after also winning in 2012, 2013 and 2014.